UH Horizontal Integrated Digital Input and Output Modules

Series Part Number

Part Number: UH - CL - D16C16 N
Explanation:

Platform

UH - Horizontal integrated I/O module

Protocol

PN - PROFINET
EC - EtherCAT
EIP - EtherNet/IP
CB - CC-Link IE Field Basic
MT - Modbus TCP
CL - CC-Link

I/O Configuration

D16C16 - 16 digital inputs accepting NPN or PNP signals and 16 digital outputs; fixed configuration in this series

Output Polarity

P - PNP outputs
N - NPN outputs; both output types listed for each protocol

Description

Model selection

UH horizontal integrated modules combine a communication interface, 16 digital inputs and 16 digital outputs. Inputs support NPN or PNP signals; the final model letter selects PNP or NPN outputs. Choose the exact network protocol and output polarity together. CC-Link and CC-Link IE Field Basic are separate protocol variants.

ProtocolPNP output modelNPN output modelInputs / outputs
PROFINETUH-PN-D16C16PUH-PN-D16C16N16 / 16
EtherCATUH-EC-D16C16PUH-EC-D16C16N
EtherNet/IPUH-EIP-D16C16PUH-EIP-D16C16N
CC-Link IE Field BasicUH-CB-D16C16PUH-CB-D16C16N
Modbus TCPUH-MT-D16C16PUH-MT-D16C16N
CC-LinkUH-CL-D16C16PUH-CL-D16C16N

Network specifications

ModelsTransmission rateInterface data capacityAddressing
UH-PN10/100Mbps, full duplex1024 bytes maximumPROFINET specification
UH-EC100MbpsEtherCAT specification
UH-EIPEtherNet/IP specification
UH-CBRX and RY: 64 bits each; RWr and RWw: 32 words each, per logical stationNot specified here
UH-MT1024 bytes maximumModbus TCP specification
UH-CLFive selectable rates belowNot specified hereNot specified here

The five Ethernet variants use CAT5 cable and support a communication distance of ≤100m. CC-Link uses its dedicated three-core shielded stranded cable and the rate-dependent limits below. Interface capacity is separate from the physical I/O count.

CC-Link rateMaximum distance
10Mbps100m
5Mbps160m
2.5Mbps400m
625kbps900m
156kbps1200m
Network propertySpecificationScope
Station type / occupancyRemote I/O station / 1 stationAll models
TopologyBus topology
IsolationElectrical isolation
Periodic-data / node-search ports61450 / 61451UH-CB models
AlarmsDiagnostic alarms and process alarmsUH-PN models

Input and output characteristics

Input parameterSpecificationScope
Channels and signal types16; NPN and PNPAll models
PNP ON / OFF window15-30V / -3V to +3V
NPN ON / OFF window-3V to +3V / 15-30V
Typical input current4mA at 24VUH-PN-D16C16P and UH-PN-D16C16N
3mAUH-EC, UH-EIP, UH-CB, UH-MT and UH-CL models listed above
Input voltage grade24VDC, ±10%Both UH-PN models
Output typeChannelsON stateOFF state
PNP sourcing, suffix P1624VDC, ±25%Nominal 0VDC; ±3% tolerance with unspecified reference quantity
NPN sinking, suffix NNominal 0VDC; ±3% tolerance with unspecified reference quantity24VDC, ±25%

The low-state tolerance notation does not establish an absolute residual-voltage limit. Connect PNP loads to the field 0V return; connect NPN loads to the positive field supply.

Connection and protectionInputs, all modelsOutputs, all models
Connection arrangement1-wire
Reverse-circuit protectionProvided
Field-layer isolationOptical isolation
Module error diagnosisProvided

Module error diagnosis is distinct from the individual port functions listed below for the PROFINET models.

Housing and operating conditions

ParameterAll models
Housing dimensions43.7 × 100 × 100mm
Mounting35mm DIN rail
Protection / pollution degreeIP20 / 2
Operating temperature-10°C to +55°C
Storage temperature-20°C to +85°C
Relative humidity5-95%RH, non-condensing

The housing has a 100 × 100mm face and nominal 43.7mm thickness. The PROFINET mounting outline rounds the thickness to 44mm.

PROFINET supply and wiring

The detailed terminal, indicator, process-data and installation specifications below apply to UH-PN-D16C16P and UH-PN-D16C16N.

PropertyBoth PROFINET models
Working supply24VDC, +20%/−15%
System feed current<150mA
Terminal technologyPush-in spring terminals; solid conductors can be inserted directly
Power-terminal conductor range0.5-1.5mm²; separately stated wire range 22-16AWG
Power-terminal strip length8-9mm
Input/output conductor range0.34-1.5mm²; 22-16AWG
Input/output strip length8-10mm
Power interface markings24V, 0V and PE
Bus interface2 × RJ45
Resistive-output load marking24VDC / 0.5A; aggregate simultaneous-output limit not specified here

The metric conductor range and AWG range are stated separately; their endpoints are not exact unit conversions.

PROFINET terminal assignment

The input and output terminal banks are physically separate. The A/B letters below are scoped to the named bank; an input-bank SS terminal is not an output-bank field-supply terminal.

Input-bank signalInput-bank terminalInput-bank terminalInput-bank signal
Input 00B1A1Input 10
Input 01B2A2Input 11
Input 02B3A3Input 12
Input 03B4A4Input 13
Input 04B5A5Input 14
Input 05B6A6Input 15
Input 06B7A7Input 16
Input 07B8A8Input 17
SS commonB9A9SS common
B10A10

The four input-bank SS terminals are internally connected. Connect SS to 0V for PNP input operation with a 24V active signal, or to +24V for NPN input operation with a 0V active signal. This shared common does not provide an independently selectable common voltage for each channel.

Output-bank signalOutput-bank terminalOutput-bank terminalOutput-bank signal
Output 00A1B1Output 10
Output 01A2B2Output 11
Output 02A3B3Output 12
Output 03A4B4Output 13
Output 04A5B5Output 14
Output 05A6B6Output 15
Output 06A7B7Output 16
Output 07A8B8Output 17
Field +24VA9B9Field +24V
Field 0VA10B10Field 0V

Supply Field +24V and Field 0V externally. The labels 00-07 and 10-17 each identify eight channels, separately for inputs and outputs.

Insulated ferruleConductor cross-sectionFerrule length L
E03100.3mm²10mm
E05100.5mm²
E75100.75mm²
E10101.0mm²
E15101.5mm²

PROFINET indicators

IndicatorColour and stateMeaning
PWRGreen onNormal supply
OffNo supply or abnormal supply
RUNGreen onSystem operating normally
OffAbnormal operation
PORT1Red offNo communication data at port 1
Red flashingCommunication data at port 1
PORT2Red offNo communication data at port 2
Red flashingCommunication data at port 2
DI 00-07 and 10-17; DO 00-07 and 10-17Green on / offCorresponding input or output active / inactive

PROFINET process data and software

DirectionByteBit 7Bit 6Bit 5Bit 4Bit 3Bit 2Bit 1Bit 0
Input0DI07DI06DI05DI04DI03DI02DI01DI00
1DI17DI16DI15DI14DI13DI12DI11DI10
Output0DO07DO06DO05DO04DO03DO02DO01DO00
1DO17DO16DO15DO14DO13DO12DO11DO10

Input and output each use a separate two-byte process image. An input bit is 1 for an active input and 0 for an inactive input. An output bit of 1 activates its channel, at a high level for PNP or a low level for NPN; 0 deactivates it.

Software functionBoth PROFINET models
Input-port abnormality detection and indicationNot provided
Output-port abnormality detection and indicationNot provided
Input/output logic-level configurationNot supported
Independent channel-enable configurationNot supported
Fault-stop output stateRetain current value
Diagnostic-reporting configurationNot supported
Stopped modeFollow the fault-stop state mode and preset value; no further refresh
I/O accessBit, byte and word access

PROFINET environmental and installation details

ParameterSpecification
AltitudeBelow 2000m; 80kPa reference
Overvoltage categoryII
Power-line immunity2kV, IEC 61000-4-4
EMC environmentZone B, IEC 61131-2
VibrationIEC 60068-2-6: 5-8.4Hz at 3.5mm amplitude; 8.4-150Hz at 9.8m/s²; X, Y and Z axes, 100 minutes per axis in ten 10-minute cycles
ShockIEC 60068-2-27: 9.8m/s², 11ms; three shocks in each of six directions across the X, Y and Z axes
Declared conformityCE; supporting certificate number not specified here
Adjacent-module clearance10mm minimum

Mount the 100 × 100mm face upright on the DIN rail in a ventilated enclosure or cabinet. Keep away from equipment that could cause overheating. Disconnect power before fitting or removing the module. Engage the upper rail latch and seat the module. For removal, disconnect signal and power cables, release the latch with a flat screwdriver and reverse the mounting movement. Check for obstructions if the module resists fitting.

Additional ratings

UL use groupRated currentRated voltageRated cross-section
BNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
C
D