UE20 NPN and PNP Digital Output Modules

Series Part Number

Part Number: UE20 - 16 DO - P
Explanation:

Platform

UE20 - UE20 spring-terminal expansion module platform

Channels

8 - 8 channels
16 - 16 channels

Function

DO - Digital output

Output Polarity

N - NPN sinking, active low
P - PNP sourcing, active high; both channel counts are listed for each polarity

Description

Digital output module selection

UE20 digital output modules control 24VDC loads through NPN sinking or PNP sourcing outputs. Choose the output polarity and channel count for the connected actuators, relays, contactors or solenoid valves. Each module uses screwless spring terminals and occupies 12mm on a 35mm DIN rail. Select a coupler and expansion arrangement for the UE20 platform.

ModelChannelsOutput typeActive electrical levelProcess dataBus current at 5VDC
UE20-8DO-N8NPN sinkingLow1 byte66mA typical
UE20-8DO-PPNP sourcingHigh
UE20-16DO-N16NPN sinkingLow2 bytes106mA typical
UE20-16DO-PPNP sourcingHigh

Supply and signal states

ParameterAll four models
Internal bus input5VDC nominal; 4.75-5.25VDC
Working-voltage specification24VDC, +20%/−15%
Output-circuit voltage grade24VDC ±10%; 21.6-26.4VDC
System-side electrical isolation500VAC
Isolation methodOptical isolation
Reverse-polarity protectionSupported
Output protectionShort-circuit and overcurrent protection
Module fault diagnosisProvided; individual output-channel diagnostic functions are listed separately below
Output typeInactive state, 0/OFFActive state, 1/ON
NPN: UE20-8DO-N and UE20-16DO-N24VDC, ±25%Nominal 0VDC; ±3% tolerance with unspecified reference quantity
PNP: UE20-8DO-P and UE20-16DO-PNominal 0VDC; ±3% tolerance with unspecified reference quantity24VDC, ±25%

The percentage reference for the low-level ±3% tolerance is unspecified, so it does not establish an absolute low-level voltage limit. Signal-state voltage, working supply voltage and output-circuit voltage grade describe separate conditions.

Output load limits

Apply both the per-channel and per-module limits. The 16-channel NPN and PNP models have different total resistive and inductive load ratings.

ModelsLoad typePer-channel limitPer-module limitSwitching frequency
UE20-8DO-N and UE20-8DO-PResistive0.5A2A100Hz
Inductive7.2W7.2W0.5Hz
Lamp5W5W10Hz
UE20-16DO-NResistive0.5A4A100Hz
Inductive7.2W24W0.5Hz
Lamp5W18W10Hz
UE20-16DO-PResistive0.5A2A100Hz
Inductive7.2W12W0.5Hz
Lamp5W18W10Hz
ModelsOperation at 55°CAll outputs active
Both 8-channel models50% output derating; combined simultaneously active output current no more than 0.5AApply a 10°C temperature derating
Both 16-channel models50% output derating; combined simultaneously active output current no more than 1A

Connections and mechanical installation

ModelsConductor cross-sectionSeparate AWG specificationStrip length
UE20-8DO-N and UE20-8DO-P0.2-2.5mm²28-14AWG8-9mm
UE20-16DO-N and UE20-16DO-P0.2-1.5mm²28-16AWG

The metric and AWG entries are separate declared ranges, not point-for-point conversions. Spring terminals permit direct insertion of solid conductors.

PropertyAll models
Connection arrangement1-line, screwless spring terminals
Height × width × depth100 × 12 × 68mm
Mounting35mm DIN rail
Protection ratingIP20
Hardware featureFunction
Grounding spring contactGround connection through the 35mm DIN rail
Field-power contactsTwo metal clips supply the field loads
LatchSecures the module to the DIN rail
Signal terminalsConnect the output signals
Internal bus connectionCarries bus power and signals
Channel indicatorsShow the state of each output
Module labelIdentifies the I/O module function

Terminal assignment and load wiring

For NPN models, connect each load between the positive field supply and its output terminal. For PNP models, connect each load between its output terminal and the 0VDC return. Terminals are numbered from 1, while process-data channel numbers start at 0.

Applies toLeft signalLeft terminalRight terminalRight signal
All modelsOutput 112Output 2
Output 334Output 4
Output 556Output 6
Output 778Output 8
16-channel models onlyOutput 9910Output 10
Output 111112Output 12
Output 131314Output 14
Output 151516Output 16
Insulated ferruleConductor cross-sectionFerrule length L
E03100.3mm²10mm
E05100.5mm²
E75100.75mm²
E10101.0mm²
E15101.5mm²

Indicators and process data

ModelsIndicator labelsColour and stateMeaning
8-channel models1-8Green on / offCorresponding output active / inactive
16-channel models1-16
Output dataBit 7Bit 6Bit 5Bit 4Bit 3Bit 2Bit 1Bit 0
Byte 0, all modelsChannel 7Channel 6Channel 5Channel 4Channel 3Channel 2Channel 1Channel 0
Byte 1, 16-channel models onlyChannel 15Channel 14Channel 13Channel 12Channel 11Channel 10Channel 9Channel 8

Bit value 1 activates the corresponding output: low electrical level for NPN or high electrical level for PNP. Bit value 0 makes the output inactive.

Software functionBehaviour
Fault-stop output stateRetain the current value
Output-port abnormality detection and indicationNot provided
Configurable output logic levelNot supported
Independent channel-enable configurationNot supported
Configurable diagnostic reportingNot supported
Stopped modeFollow the fault-stop state mode and preset value; no further refresh
I/O mapping accessBit, byte and word access

Environment and immunity

ParameterAll models
Operating temperature-20°C to +60°C, subject to output derating
Storage temperature-20°C to +60°C
Operating humidity<95%RH, non-condensing
Storage humidity<90%RH, non-condensing
AtmosphereNo corrosive gases
AltitudeBelow 2000m; 80kPa reference
Pollution degree2
Overvoltage categoryII
Power-line immunity2kV, IEC 61000-4-4
EMC environmentZone B, IEC 61131-2
VibrationIEC 60068-2-6: 5-8.4Hz at 3.5mm amplitude; 8.4-150Hz at 9.8m/s²; X, Y and Z axes, 100 minutes per axis in ten 10-minute cycles
ShockIEC 60068-2-27: 9.8m/s², 11ms; three shocks in each of six directions across the X, Y and Z axes

Additional rating information

UL use groupRated currentRated voltageRated cross-section
BNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
C
D